Cancel

The Female Lead: A Selection of Portraits un film de Marian Lacombe. 2017, États-Unis, 41 min. Avec Ava DuVernay, Tavi Gevinson, Mhairi Black, Christiane Amanpour, Dr. Cori Bargmann, Michaela DePrince, Samantha Power, the Mulberry School Students, Meryl Streep et Sister Rosemary Nyirumbe.

Voici une sélection d’interviews de femmes remarquables réalisées par Marian Lacombe pour The Female Lead. Publié en février, ce livre met en avant soixante femmes du monde entier excellant dans leurs domaines, dans le but d’inspirer les futures générations. Le portrait de chacune de ces femmes fut tiré par la grande photographe Brigitte Lacombe, et sa sœur, la documentariste Marian Lacombe, a réalisé de brillants interviews pour accompagner la publication.

 

 

Le Cinéma Club a choisi dix de ces portraits filmés, présentant donc des femmes qui travaillent aussi bien dans l’art que dans la science ou la politique. Cette sélection comprend : la réalisatrice et scénariste Ava DuVernay, la rédactrice en chef du magazine Rookie et actrice Tavi Gevinson, la membre du Parti National Écossais et plus jeune des députés britanniques Mhairi Black, la correspondante internationale en chef de CNN Christiane Amanpour, la neuroscientifique et présidente de Chan Zuckerberg Science Cori Bargmann, la danseuse étoile Michaela DePrince, l’écrivain et ex-ambassadrice des Etats-Unis aux Nations-Unis Samantha Power, les écolières ambitieuses de la Mulberry School à Londres, l’actrice Meryl Streep, et Sœur Rosemary Nyirumbe d’Ouganda.

 

“Ce qui m’a frappée, c’est que presque toutes ces femmes ont réussi en prenant des chemins surprenants. Elles saisissent les opportunités les plus variées. Elles ont en commun la volonté, l’énergie, la persévérance, l’enthousiasme et une grande curiosité.” MARIAN LACOMBE

 

Chacune à leur tour, ces femmes nous racontent leur parcours et partagent leurs expériences et opinions. Le résultat est à la fois inspirant et motivant. The Female Lead est une organisation à but non lucratif initiée par l’entrepreneuse anglaise Edwina Dunn. Le but du projet est de mettre en lumière des femmes brillantes, et par conséquent de nouveaux modèles, qui apportent confiance en soi et ambition aux jeunes femmes du monde entier. Le livre a été distribué dans des milliers d’écoles, en Angleterre comme aux États-Unis.

 

Les sœurs Lacombe ont commencé à travailler sur ce projet il y a plus de deux ans, et ont réalisé ces soixante portraits entre Londres, New York, Washington et Palo Alto. Ces derniers ont tous été filmés à la lumière naturelle ­— Brigitte commençait par photographier les femmes et Marian menait ses entretiens par la suite car, comme la réalisatrice l’explique : “Brigitte sait mieux que personne mettre en confiance celle qu’elle photographie.” À travers ces interviews, Marian Lacombe s’est concentrée sur les trajectoires et expériences personnelles de ces femmes, en cherchant de temps à autres à obtenir des conseils. Toutes les femmes ayant participé au livre The Female Lead étaient convaincues que ce projet était à la fois actuel et essentiel. Le reste de ces portraits sont visibles sur le site de The Female Lead.

 

Marian Lacombe est une réalisatrice de documentaires. Elle a travaillé comme journaliste, présentatrice et rédactrice en chef pour M6, et fut responsable de l’ouverture des antennes de la chaîne à Lyon et Marseille. Elle a aussi réalisé des documentaires sur les cinéastes, chorégraphes et stylistes Mira Nair, Agnès Varda, Robert Altman, Philippe Decouflé et Christian Lacroix.
 En 2012, pour les Jeux Olympiques de Londres, Brigitte et Marian Lacombe ont collaboré au livre et à l’exposition HEY’YA autour des sportives arabes.

Crédits pour
THE FEMALE LEAD: A SELECTION OF PORTRAITS
avec
Ava DuVernay, Tavi Gevinson, Mhairi Black, Christiane Amanpour, Dr. Cori Bargmann, Michaela DePrince, Samantha Power, the Mulberry School Students, Meryl Streep & Sister Rosemary Nyirumbe
Partager THE FEMALE LEAD: A SELECTION OF PORTRAITS

Cancel

The Female Lead: A Selection of Portraits a film by Marian Lacombe. 2017, USA, 41 min. With Ava DuVernay, Tavi Gevinson, Mhairi Black, Christiane Amanpour, Dr. Cori Bargmann, Michaela DePrince, Samantha Power, the Mulberry School Students, Meryl Streep and Sister Rosemary Nyirumbe. Ten interviews with amazing women leading the fields of art, politics and science.

Here is a selection of short film portraits made by Marian Lacombe for The Female Lead. Released in February 2017, the publication highlights sixty women from around the world who lead in their fields of endeavour, with the aim of inspiring the next generation. Each woman was photographed by Brigitte Lacombe, one of the world’s leading photographers, with wonderful accompanying short film interviews made by her sister, the documentarian Marian Lacombe.

 

 

Le Cinéma Club selected ten of these powerful, intimate interviews with amazing women working in the arts, politics and science. The series includes, in order of appearance: filmmaker Ava DuVernay, the actress and editor-in-chief of Rookie Magazine Tavi Gevinson, the youngest ever Member of Parliament for the Scottish National Party Mhairi Black, Chief International Correspondent for CNN Christiane Amanpour, neuroscientist and President of Chan Zuckerberg Science Dr. Cori Bargmann, Ballet Dancer Michaela DePrince, Pulitzer Prize Winner and former U.S. Ambassador to the UN Samantha Power, the ambitious Mulberry School Students, Actress Meryl Streep, and Sister Rosemary Nyirumbe from Uganda.

 

“What struck me is that almost all of these women have succeeded while taking unconventional paths. They seize the most diverse opportunities. What they all have in common is their willpower, energy, determination, passion and curiosity.” MARIAN LACOMBE

 

The interviews show these extraordinary women sharing their diverse journeys, personal stories and perspectives, and the effect is both inspiring and empowering. The Female Lead is a non-profit initiative founded by data and loyalty entrepreneur Edwina Dunn to make women’s stories more visible, offering positive and alternative role models with the goal of fostering ambition and self-belief in young women. The Female Lead book will be distributed to schoolchildren in the U.K. and the U.S.

 

The Lacombe sisters began working on the project two years ago, shooting the portraits between London, New York, Washington and Palo Alto. They would shoot the women in natural daylight, with Marian interviewing them after Brigitte had taken their photo portraits – as, according to Marian, “Brigitte knows better than anyone how to put one at ease.” She would focus on getting the women to tell their personal stories, sometimes inquiring about guidance for younger generations. From the creators of the project to the subjects, the women were convinced that this initiative was both necessary and timely.

 

Marian Lacombe is a French independent documentary filmmaker. She has worked as a reporter, anchorwoman and editor-in-chief on daily news and magazines for the private French television channel M6 in Paris, and opened and ran their correspondent headquarters in Lyon and Marseille. She also directed documentaries on filmmakers, choreographers and designers such as Mira Nair, Agnès Varda, Robert Altman, Philippe Decouflé and Christian Lacroix.
 In 2012, for the London Olympic Games, Marian and Brigitte Lacombe collaborated on HEY’YA, a book and exhibition about Arab Women in Sport.

 

Many other incredible portraits and interviews are available on the website of The Female Lead. You can nominate a U.K school to receive a free copy of the book and teaching resources here.

Credits for
THE FEMALE LEAD: A SELECTION OF PORTRAITS
with
Ava DuVernay, Tavi Gevinson, Mhairi Black, Christiane Amanpour, Dr. Cori Bargmann, Michaela DePrince, Samantha Power, the Mulberry School Students, Meryl Streep & Sister Rosemary Nyirumbe
Share THE FEMALE LEAD: A SELECTION OF PORTRAITS